Jake Bugg’s announces new album ‘Hearts That Strain’

Jake Bugg releases his stunning new album ‘Hearts That Strain’, recorded in Nashville, September 1st on Virgin EMI. The first taste of which is the breezy single ‘How Soon The Dawn’, a collaboration with Dan Auerbach.

Working with Grammy Award winning producer David Ferguson and Matt Sweeney, Jake recorded the album in Nashville with some of the best players in the history of popular music. As part of American Sound Studio’s legendary house band The Memphis Boys, Gene Chrisman and Bobby Woods provided the chops on such pivotal records as Dusty In Memphis, In The Ghetto, Suspicious Minds and Dark End Of The Street, cutting their teeth in sessions with Wilson Pickett, Aretha Franklin and Dionne Warwick.

“They’re old guys but they’re amazing,” Jake says. “It was ten to five and then that’s it. They’d pack up and we’d done two or three tunes. It was a mad vibe being from England and meeting these absolute legends and then cutting some tracks with them.”

To coincide with the album’s release Jake plays ‘On Blackheath’ festival Sunday September 10th and will step out for an intimate solo acoustic tour taking in the following venues:

Sat 4th Bath, The Forum
Sun 5th Cardiff, St David’s Hall
Mon 6th Leicester, De Montfort Hall
Tue 7th Hull, City Hall
Thu 9th Cork, Live at St. Luke’s
Fri 10th Limerick, Dolans Pub
Sat 11th Galway, Black Box
Mon 13th Edinburgh, The Queen’s Hall
Tue 14th Forres, The Loft
Thu 16th Strathpeffer, Strathpeffer Pavilion
Fri 17th Perth, Inchyra Arts Club
Sun 19th Stoke-on-Trent, Victoria Hall
Wed 22nd Bexhill, De La Warr Pavilion
Fri 24th Reading, Hexagon
Sat 25th Liverpool, Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Tickets on sale August 11th at 9am.

Alongside the single Dan Auerbach also played on shuffling rockabilly get-down I Can Burn Alone and In The Event Of My Demise, while rising star Noah Cyrus (younger sister of Miley) shares the vocals on one of the albums stand out moments ‘Waiting’.

As ever, Jake’s writing and singing shine on Hearts That Strain.
There’s a common thread running through its 11 songs, each one a gem waiting to be discovered.

Still only 23, Jake’s most recent album was last years acclaimed ‘On My One’, and it followed two multiplatinum selling albums his breakthrough self-titled debut and ‘Shangri La’.

Full tracklisting for ‘Hearts That Strain’ below:

Track listing
1. How Soon The Dawn
2. Southern Rain
3. In The Event Of My Demise
4. This Time
5. Waiting
6. Man On The Stage
7. Hearts That Strain
8. I Can Burn Alone
9. Indigo Blue
10. Bigger Lover
11. Every Colour In The World